top of page

History of the Germantown (TN) Alumni Chapter 

The Germantown Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. was visualized as a means of serving the brothers of East Shelby County. In November 1989, the first of many planning and fact-finding meetings were held to discuss the establishment of the new chapter. The level of interest was significant enough to eventually lead to the actual petitioning for a new chapter by the interested brothers. That petition was filed on January 4,1990.

To exist and gain recognition during the petitioning process, the brothers chose the name of the KAPPA MEN OF GERMANTOWN as their temporary organizational name. With the process initiated, bi-monthly meetings were held to discuss strategy, agendas, and to promote the various functions and civic endeavors the brothers were involved in. Temporary officers were elected and fraternity business went on as usual in anticipation of a charter.

The initial petition contained fifteen names. However, by the final date to submit names, that number had grown to forty-five. All forty-five were either life members or life-subscribing members, which demonstrated each member’s long-term commitment to the financial stability and national objectives of the Fraternity.

On the 5th of May 1990, the Grand Board of Directors of Kappa Alpha Psi voted unanimously to approve our charter.  On June 1, 1990 South Central Province Polemarch, Attorney Mark Scott presented the charter to our brothers and officially swore in officers, making the Germantown Alumni Chapter the second largest chartered chapter in the history of Kappa Alpha Psi at the time.


Charter Members:

Rhen Bass-Polemarch

Carter Rosenthal-Vice Polemarch

Dwight Alexander-Keeper of Records

William Martin-Keeper of Exchequer

Williams Allison      Roy Nunn              Earl Leake             Virgil Deanes Jr.
Leroy Hannah         Carl Burns              Kevin Lomax          Patrick Malone     
Duane Miller           James Jones          *Kenneth Wallace   Kenneth Williams
*Thanh Anderson    Benjamin Tillery      Michael Curry        Stanley Dowell                     
Charles Hill            Marvin Byrd           Michael Macklin     Edward McClure II           
Marvell Mitchell      Van Jones              Ronald Wells          Darrti Tukufu   
Gregory Blair         Roderic Toney         Ronald Davis          Gary Clayton   
Larry Hill               Darrow Calhoun      Lamar Washington  Rickey McReynolds          
Ronnie Norfleet      Gregory Lawrence   Andre Dean                              
Kevin Brent            *Kenneth Tuggle      Jeffrey McMurray               
Larry Howell          Kent Coleman         Richard Watts    

* Denotes Chapter Invisible         

bottom of page